Let’s get real for a moment.

Posted on

It’s April 4, 2013. I haven’t written since last August. Maybe it’s because I’m a little embarrassed, or maybe it’s because life has been moving rather quickly, whatever the reasons…this is where I’m at and I’m ready to share.

I am head over heels in love with Asheville. This is where I am meant to be. I knew it a while back and my gut couldn’t have been more spot on. The journey here was rough though. And I’m not just talking about the popped tire I had on the trailer in New Mexico.

People change and they don’t change. Love evolves and you have to face the music. As soon as I hit North Carolina soil I felt something. I felt like me. I had a renewed sense of self. As I settled in, my lifestyle changed. Because of the changes all around me, I made the decision to let go of the partner that had been by my side for many years. It wasn’t easy and I think I can say that it was painful for both parties. There I was, 27 years old, ending my marriage days away from it’s one year anniversary. I was embarrassed and scared. I was able to push through because of my family and friends. They support my happiness and I am grateful.

I am so happy. Things don’t always go as planned. But that’s ok. That’s what makes life interesting. When I was in high school I thought I was going to be married and have a kid by twenty-two. And that’s what I thought defined happiness at that time. My current state of bliss is not solely dependent on my lover, my label or if I’ve had a child yet. ┬áIt comes from so many more places than I could ever imagine when I was seventeen. I’ve said it a million times to the people I love, but I’ll say it again. I am finally living an intentional life and it feels AMAZING!

 

03dd0abe1e9395cd2f2a7d25705eb1a8

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

4 responses »

  1. Amazingly brave and thoughtful post from an amazing woman. Keep defining your own path…

    Reply
  2. When we were seventeen you wanted to open a coffee shop and we made obscene bird calls at each other to know we were home safe, that I now think back must have just annoyed the shit out of our neighbors, those calls were so loud! But we also played in creeks and cleaned up the senior outside lunch yard when people were too fucking lazy to put their trash in the bin…5ft away. You’ve always known who you were, society just gets in the way of telling us how we should be happy, it knocks on my window trying to trick me every fucking day. I’m sure this was no easy process for you but I’m glad to hear you have found yourself again. Never settle.

    Reply
    • Ps, drop me an email sometime if you’d like. It’s always nice to hear from and catch up with old friends.

      Reply
    • Thank you so much for your kind words Ashley! And think, today kids just have to text their friend that theirs home safely. No bird calls required. Although…the bird calls were pretty fun. I highly recommend them still.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 496 other followers

