Valentine’s Day

Ah, Valentine’s Day. It seems like people either hate it or love it. To all the people who get pissy because you think it’s all a Hallmark ploy, I want you to think about something. If you could actually think of something sweet to say to your loved one on v-day the card companies probably wouldn’t make so much money. I don’t mean to be rude but I was a business major, I’ve learned the marketing tricks. If you don’t like them, then don’t fall for them. Make your valentine. There is nothing wrong (in my opinion) with a day that celebrates love. After all, “it’s the only thing that there’s just too little of.”

Love is a funny little devil. It can make you feel amazing, a little buzzed even. But it can make you physically sick too. We make huge sacrifices for it. Love is such a huge part of our lives. So why not have a day to honor it?

So my Valentine’s Day consisted of working till 2pm then Matt and I went to Eureka. We walked around and went into some cute shops. I think we found THE mattress we want. We got a snack at a nice little cafe, Ramone’s Bakery and Cafe. I got veggie soup and Matt got a couple of pastries and a Latte. I loved this pot they had put together of little succulents. I really need to get greenery into my apartment. Herbs are first on the list but these succulents are soooo cute!

On our way from Eureka we stopped at Eureka Natural Foods. I’d never been there before. It was so great, everything was organic and/or local. I finally stocked up on much needed baking supplies.

When we got home from Eureka we made Indian Curry for our Valentine’s Day dinner. Back in Atlanta Matt and I used to go to our favorite Indian Restaurant on date nights. There is no good Indian food in our county where we live now. So I have to learn to make it. I enjoyed going out to Indian so much I avoided learning to cook it. I think once you learn to cook your favorite foods, going out and getting them at a restaurant is usually a let down. So I made the vegetable curry and Matt made himself some chicken to go in his. It was good but I’m still going to search for  better recipe. For dessert we made glazed oatmeal cookies. Yum. Matt really likes those store bought iced oatmeal cookies, I always thought they looked so gross. I’ve been wanting to make him the homemade version for a while. I’m so glad I finally did. They are pretty damn good.

I know this isn’t the most flattering picture. I usually spend time making my stuff look good, oh well, you get the gist. So all in all it was an excellent Valentine’s Day. I hope everyone out there had fun too.

On a not so Valentine’s Day note, I am getting really tired of eating spaghetti almost every night. It’s cheap and I really do like it, but I don’t want to get sick of it. So I am determined to learn how to plan our meals out better. I am starting tonight. Planning actually allows me some time to look in the pantry and see what I have so I don’t buy things twice. I am pretty notorious for that. Seeing what you have can help you decide on what to make too. I’m sure most people know this but I’m going to try and stick to it. So I have three meals I plan on buying for tonight. I’ll let you know how everything goes.

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

3 responses »

  1. Love your writing Erin! You should do it more often. Love your photos too! Thanks for reminding me to keep-up with you.

    Love Mom

    Reply
  2. Those look so yummy!!! Meal planning is so hard.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 27 years « Chapter 2

Leave a Reply

