Fantastical Fiction

Posted on

I don’t know why, but summer is always the time for me to read fiction. I am a reasearchoholic so I usually spend my reading time flipping through pages of how-to non fiction. Cookbooks, craft books, gardening books, etc. But when summer arrives I need to hear some stories. There are so many books out there. How do you choose what to read next?

There are lists of books to read before you die. Can you believe this? Who writes these lists? I’ve gone through a couple and as I scan the titles I just know I will never read some of those books. It makes me feel weird. But seriously, fiction is like Starbucks, there may just be too many choices. The number of genres astound me. Do I read a classic, a romance, a mystery or an up and coming author? Regarding the latter; I don’t know where to find awesome up and coming fiction. I love discovering new music and sharing it with my friends and family. I would love to do the same with books but I just can’t find a portal to do so. Any suggestions on this would be great.

So back to the topic at hand, what to read.

I have made a decision. Magical Realism. That is the genre I’d like to read. I loved Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel, so I am researching this particular genre for more. There is one title I would like to read: The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender, but is doesn’t come out till June 1. I need a book sooner. So I am looking at this list from Wikipedia. The sad thing about this list is that a lot of the books on it have been turned into movies that I have seen and never knew they were books beforehand. Poop.

After a couple hours of research I have made this list:

  • Men of Maize by Miguel Angel Asturias
  • The Story Sisters by Alice Hoffman
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • The Island of Eternal Love by Daina Chaviano
  • Nude Men by Amanda Filipacchi
  • The Tin Drum by Gunter Grass
  • Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin
  • The Book of Laughter and Forgetting by Milan Kundera

I will go to my local used bookstores to see if they have any of these. If not, it’s off to Borders. Which ever book is in stock first will win. Wish me luck.

PS I made this little collage on Picnik today. Matt and Daphne are a funny pair. I love them both.

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

One response »

  1. What a great list of books. Nothing better than fiction on the beach…in a hammock…under a tree. Ahhhh. But after seeing the pictures of Matt and Daphne, I have to wonder….. Who needs books with those two around 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

