Up in the Air

Posted on

If you’ve ever been to Humboldt County California then you’ve seen all the people passing through, the drifters, the hitchhikers. I’m still pretty new, I don’t know the PC term to use. But anyway, there are large amounts of people every day with their thumbs out asking for rides. I haven’t picked anyone up yet. I was tempted one night when it was pouring, pretty cold and I was with my boyfriend. But the guy was going the opposite direction.
This morning I woke up at 4:00 am. I’m flying back to Atlanta for my sister’s high school graduation. So we leave the apartment at 4:30 and realized once we get to Eureka we need gas. Ok, no problem, we pull into the gas station, Matt gets out to do the gas thing while I stay in the car playing on my phone. Then I look in the passenger side mirror and see that there’s a guy in a white button-up and dress pants talking to Matt. He’s sketchy. I can’t hear them talking but I slip the keys from the ignition just to be safe. Next thing you know Matt is leaning in the car telling me we are going to give this guy a ride. Really? Are you f-ing kidding me? I have a plane to catch, I’m not really in the mood to possibly get raped and murdered. Keep in mind I’m thinking all this, I choose to stay quiet and just give the look that clearly says I’m not into what’s happening right now. So the sketchy guy gets in my back seat. He tells me his story. He just got out of jail and his car has been taken away. He has two kids at home who spent the night alone. He said he hopes they don’t notice he’s been gone all night. I’m telling you, the things he said just got weirder. He works at a cemetary. Great, he knows right where he’s going to bury us. We keep driving and finally he tells us to pull over and let him out. Thank goodness! It was over! We lived. If you can’t tell I was kind of shaken up. I would have picked up any hippie dude over that scary business man. But I made it on the plane. I guess thats good.

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

3 responses »

  1. You can’t pick those people up in LA, you won’t get wherever your headed. Even in NorCal I think that I would be too nervous.

    Reply
  2. Last time I picked up a hitchhiker, The Smashing Pumpkins saved me. I saw this blazer clad woman with a purse beside the road and figured her car had broken down. By the time she slid in behind me (the front passenger seat was empty so that was pretty creepy) I knew I had been stupid. She proceeded to rifle through the stuff I had bought. Ask for quarters to make a phone call and then steal several handfuls from change I kept between the seats. She kept getting more and more hostile (from behind my head) and by this time we were out in the middle of nowhere. The Smashing Pumpkins came on the radio and she told me she needed to get out right then. I pulled over ready to defend myself from what I was sure was going to be an attack. But she got out–in the middle of nowhere muttering that she hated the Smashing Pumpkins.

    I drove off vowing never to pick up hitchhikers again.

    And I never turn off the Smashing Pumpkins no matter how little I like their music.

    Reply
  3. very scary! I’ve never picked up a hitchhiker, and I don’t plan in it. It really scares me to have a stranger in my car with me

    Reply

Leave a Reply

