Sunday Funday!

Posted on

Today has been such a great Sunday! The past two weekends I have been away from home and it has been exhausting. So, just to hang out at home with my boyfriend and my dog was so awesome.

Daphne and I doing some light reading this morning.

Remember how in love with oatmeal I am? It steals my heart again this week. Here is a recipe for a staple you probably spend quite a bit of money on each month. Granola! It’s part of your breakfast, it’s a snack, it’s delicious and customizable! It’s a name I have probably been called a couple times in my life, but whatever, right? I saw Ina make this on tv awhile back and have been making it ever since. I have altered the recipe to my liking. It’s pretty basic, but that’s how I like it. So here we go!

The Best Homemade Granola

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups organic rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped or slivered almonds
  • 3 Tbsp flax seeds
  • 3 Tbsp pumpkin seeds (raw pepitas)
  • 3 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup canola oil or olive oil
  • 1/3 cup good local honey
  • 1/3 cup apple juice or cider

Heat oven to 350°. In a large mixing bowl combine oats, nuts, flax seeds, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.

Local honey!

Whisk the oil, honey, and apple juice in a measuring cup.

Pour the liquid mixture over the oat mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until everything is well coated.

Spread onto a large sheet pan. Bake, stirring occasionally, until it is an even golden brown, 30-35 min. It can burn quickly, so keep an eye on it.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely. This is important because this is where most of the clumping takes place I think. Once cooled, store in an air tight container.

Voila!

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

3 responses »

  1. I am going to try this because Whole Foods charges way too much for the amount I eat!!

    I didn’t know you celebrated Passover, are you Jewish?!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

