Fur Kid Snacks

Posted on

For those of you who have known me for a long time, you know that I haven’t always been a dog person. Everyone knows I LOVE LOVE LOVE animals, but I think you have to be picky and careful about the ones you choose to bring home as pets.

I had an amazing Springer Spaniel named Katie when I was young. My parents had her way before they had me. She was the most well mannered, laid back gal. I was an only child for eight years of my life so Katie was like a very tolerant big sister to me. She let me dress her up in my dance recital tutus and put her long, naturally crimped ears into ponytails. I really loved that pooch.

So after Katie passed on I only had cats. They are amazing creatures people. They can pretty much take care of themselves and they have great personalities, at least in my experience. And so I dubbed myself a cat person. I wasn’t even born when my parents trained Katie so I had never taken part in any dog’s puppy years. So when all my friends were moving into their own places and getting puppies I would cringe as I walked through their doors because I knew what would happen next. I would certainly be attacked by a jumpy, smelly, slobbery pup. I just could never imagine having a dog. I saw what my friends went through and it just didn’t seem like me.

That was what I thought before I met Daphne. I knew what her name was the moment I saw her. She has the most amazing energy, and for those of you who know her, you know I’m not just talking about the good vibes she gives off 🙂 My Doodle Bug gets me, she can even read my mind (I like to think so) or maybe she’s just really good at reading my emotions and body language. Anyway, she lights up my day. I love her!

As I mentioned a couple of entries back we now have a new little pup as well. Inky! His personality is really starting to shine through, and he is one macho pup. We call him the Kamikaze because he will just throw his body anywhere or off of anything without a care or fear in the world.

Since I love my doggies so much I decided to bake them up some treats the other night. A friend of mine let me borrow the Three Dog Bakery Cookbook when I first became a dog mom. It is an awesome book!  It’s packed with all kinds of meals and treats for your fur child. It also contains a lot of practical info as well, like what food and plants are bad for your dog. The recipe below is from said cookbook. I hope your pups like their treats as much as mine do.

Party Hearty Mix-It-Up Mix

From Dan Dye & Mark Beckloff’s Three Dog Bakery Cookbook

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 4 teaspoons skim milk
  • 2 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Preheat oven to 375°F

Mix together oil, honey, vanilla, egg and milk in a bowl. In a separate bowl, blend together flour, baking powder and ginger. Combine dry ingredients with wet mixture and stir thoroughly. Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface, roll out to 1/4 inch thick and cut into shapes. (We make hearts, squirrels and bones) Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes. Cool on a rack and store in an airtight container.

Daphne loves her homemade cookies!

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

Leave a Reply

