Rain Boots and Slow Cookers

It’s been raining here non-stop for three or four days. The river has risen from the summer drought and the ferns are starting to stand up straight again. The rain doesn’t bother me like I thought it would. When I moved here I feared I would get depressed from all the gray days. The truth is, I think if you are happy with your life, it doesn’t matter what the weather is.

Aw, look at the cute puppy with those equally as cute cherry red rain boots. I know thats what you are thinking when you look at this picture. But truth be told you are gazing upon a cute puppy and a pair of cursed rain boots. I’m serious people. These boots have the power to stop the rain. It’s happened every time I’ve worn them, and I’ve had them for years. It’s quite embarrassing. I wake up, see the monsoon outside and base that days outfit around my rain boots. I get in the car, drive to my destination and BAM! the rain has stopped. EVERY time. Then, the people around me don’t think my boots are cute at all. They just stare and think to themselves, “Why is this girl wearing those clodhoppers when it’s not even raining outside? Weirdo.”

So that’s what happened today, my boots stopped the four day rain shower. Oh yeah, and we got more fish. I don’t know if you’ve picked this up yet, but my boyfriend has a habit of bringing home animals. He’s a Sagittarius.

For those of you who have rain/cold weather approaching or you just want to find a use for that dust covered slow cooker, may I recommend this recipe:

Slow Cooker Mediterranean Stew

Adapted from Allrecipes by Lisa Bromfield, submitted 2005
  • 1 Butternut Squash- peeled, seeded and cubed
  • 2 cups cubed eggplant, w/ peel
  • 2 cups cubed zucchini
  • 1 (10 oz) package frozen cut okra, thawed
  • 1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 ripe tomato, chopped
  • 1 carrot, cubed
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika

Wake up a little, ok, a lot earlier than usual and put all this goodness into your slow cooker and set it to Low. When you get home from work (8-10 hrs later) make a batch of rice and ladle on this warm, hardy stew. It tastes just as good as it smells.

Happy Slow Cooking.

 

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

One response »

  1. Yummy I need to try that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

