Baking Disaster, Or Not

The night before Thanksgiving I was on a baking roll. Pumpkin Pie, check. Apple Pie, check. Vanilla Bundt, DISASTER strikes. So the only bundt pan I have is shaped like a sandcastle, lots of nooks and crannies. When I tried to turn it out of the pan it broke right in half 😦

By this time I had used up all my eggs and all the stores had closed for the night. I wasn’t going to pitch a perfectly tasty cake just because it looked ugly. I decided I would turn this hideous mess into a beautiful trifle. It turned out great, way better than a bland vanilla bundt cake.

When Disaster Strikes Trifle

  • 1 distorted bundt cake or 1 pound cake (store bought ok)
  • 1 quart heavy whipping cream
  • 1 Tablespoon of sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 jar lemon curd (about 10 oz)
  • lots of blueberries and raspberries,or whatever berries you prefer

While setting up your kitchen aid, put the bowl and the whisk attachment into the freezer. If you are using a hand mixer do the same thing with your mixer doodads and preferably a metal bowl. The cool metal will help the process move along faster.

Pour the quart of heavy whipping cream into the bowl and turn on mixer. Add the sugar and the vanilla. Whip until the cream creates stiff peaks. You will know you have stiff peaks when you remove the whisk attachment and the whipped cream can stay on the whisk and keep form. Set aside.

Pour the lemon curd into a large mixing bowl. Dollop a small amount of whipped cream into the bowl and mix the two together, loosening up the curd. Then add all the whipped cream and slowly fold the cream and curd mixture together.

Now you are ready to layer your ingredients into your trifle bowl. Be creative, make it look pretty, however you think it should look. I started with a layer of cut cake, covering the bottom of the bowl and ended with a layer of smooth whipped cream and raspberries around the rim on the top.

~

My Thanksgiving was great. Lots of fun company and loads of food. I’m thankful for good friends in my new location, especially when the nearest family is clear across the country.

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

3 responses »

  1. You are brilliant!!

    Reply
  2. That’s my girl…I taught you well! So proud of you recycling and not throwing it away! It looks so good and professional!

    Reply
  3. What a clever way to manage a disaster (and I have them often in the kitchen!). Thanks for the great ideas and the sunny disposition!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

