Tying the Knot in 2011!

Over the holidays I received the greatest gift thus far in my life. Matt asked me to marry him! This post may be delayed but I wanted everyone close to me to know before I told the story on the blog.

So it was Christmas evening and we had finished up a great meal at Matt’s family’s house. I was feeling so good. I got to meet the family’s close friends and neighbors. I even received a handmade Hanukkah ornament from Matt’s Grandmother. But after dinner  Matt told me he wanted to show me something outside. I grabbed my coat and followed him and his sister outside. He told me to get in the car. The three of us were off and I thought we were going to look at Christmas lights or something. So then we pulled into the cemetery where Matt’s mother is buried. We all said hi and we loved her and wished she was with us. After I drew a heart in the snow for her we hopped back in the car an continued to drive.  I thought that these must be some crazy cool Christmas lights we were going to see because we sure were driving far. Then we finally pulled into the Indianapolis Museum of Art. I had been there before but it was raining, so I didn’t get to see the sculpture garden. We pull right up to Robert Indiana’s Love sculpture. This is the original. As we got out of the car I noticed a cop car coming our way. It was after dark so of course the park was closed. I bolted towards the sculpture because I knew he was going to make us leave and I wanted to see this sculpture before he kicked us out. To my surprise Matt came up and said the cop was giving us a little more time. So when we were both standing in front of this huge symbol of love he popped the question! Of course I said yes! It was a total surprise. And his sister was there to snap this photo. Thanks Nicky!

The planning has begun and it’s been so fun so far. I am obviously far away from the girls I want to be in the wedding so I made these cute little packages to ask them.

I filled the boxes with my favorite chocolate chip cookies, the recipe and a sign that said “Will you be my Maid of Honor?” etc.  To top it off I put together some felt flowers on an elastic. I thought they were cute. I had fun making them anyways. And it worked, everyone said yes! You can bribe people with cookies. 😉

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

5 responses »

  1. I am so happy for you!! Where are you having the wedding?!

    Reply
  2. Such a beautiful story. I wish you well!!

    Reply
  3. I don’t know either of you but I believe that boy’s a keeper – he thought a lot about making this special for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

