Half Moon Bay Day

Thirty minutes west is the ocean. You have to drive over the bay (pay a toll), through the hills and past tons of great farms and nurseries. Once you do that, you reach an adorable little town full of colorful people, independent shops and modern food stops. Half Moon Bay is such a sweet town! And let me just mention, when we were driving through the hills, in the middle of the day, we actually saw a half moon in the sky. I can’t find the origins of the name “Half Moon Bay” but I’m pretty sure it has nothing to do with the actual moon.

We strolled along Main Street under the cloudless, blue sky stopping into a huge antique shop, a well stocked kitchen supply store and countless art galleries.  I was almost lured into a cute sushi place for lunch, but I didn’t give in. You can’t see the ocean from Main St. and I knew there had to be a restaurant with a view somewhere close. I used my trusty cell phone (pocket computer) to find a place. It led us to Sam’s Chowder House on Hwy 1.

We sat out on the back patio and took in the view.

Matt ordered clam chowder and I got a really pretty salad made up of baby arugula, goat cheese, fresh strawberries and crunchy hazel nuts rolled in cinnamon and sugar. Delicious!

And then…I ate…the BEST key lime pie I have ever had. I’m not talking about that neon green crap you get at touristy restaurants in Florida. I’m talking about dark brown, hand formed crust, a tangy key lime (naturally colored) custard  and the most luscious, toasted meringue you have ever put in your mouth. I’m still daydreaming about it. YUM! I loved it so much I couldn’t share. I know it’s selfish but my husband knows how much I love dessert. He was fine with his latte 😉

So after we parted ways with Sam’s we stopped at Half Moon Bay Nursery on the way back home. This place was breathtaking. The rooms of shaded plants were even more beautiful than all the sun-loving flowers outside.

The green was so bright against the graying wood walls and gravel paths.

Since I don’t have a yard, just a tiny patio, my souvenir was a vivid little fern and a crazy cool pot (the $14 price tag made this pot even sweeter!) to plant it in. It was a great little California day trip!

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

Leave a Reply

