Occupy your destiny

I’m not going to try to portray that I know everything about the Occupy Movement. I usually pick and choose the causes I actively participate in and ignore or don’t research the rest. The Occupy thing kinda fell into the ignore category, until now. The other day I was asked at work what I think about Occupy. I didn’t have a straight answer. I’m one of those people who can’t commit unless I believe 100% . So I had to start thinking about my opinion on all this. This is as close to the image that popped into my head as I can recreate:

Ghost towns. You don’t have to travel out West to see one anymore. You can get in your car and cruise the nearest suburb and you get the same scene. It’s sad. We’re lazy and we’ve given up. It was easy to let the corporations take over. They promised us lower prices and convenience, and they delivered. We gave them their power and their money. But we don’t approve of Communism either. So now what? We’re sitting on our asses throwing a tantrum? Change your ways people. We did this and we can turn it around. It’s not going to happen over night. I am happy that more of you know now that corporations run our government, but geez, do something productive with your distaste. Research whose products you are buying. Shop local whenever possible. Create your own job. Get a skill. Teach a skill. Open a business. Bring life back to your Main Street. It’s still there, and I bet you there are spaces available just waiting to be rented.

Live simply.

 

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

Leave a Reply

