Day Trip to Santa Cruz

This past Monday was a fantastic day. My hubby and I both had the day off so we headed down to Santa Cruz. I love exploring the areas around were we live. The drive was only an hour and fifteen minutes, with a detour to a San Jose art supply store.

 

We actually went to a beach near Watsonville first. Sunset State Beach. The sand and the birds reminded me of Florida’s Gulf. Very pretty and surprisingly quiet. Wish we had the dogs there.

Hunger was calling and Burger was the answer. I love places that I can order any burger on the menu and get it as a veggie burger 🙂 and they had sweet potato fries, the love of my life. Very cute place with equally as cute customers and staff. Everyone there was so hip. lol I forgot to mention my burger had Mac and Cheese on it! Crazy good. It’s a good thing I was walking the whole day.

After burgers, the Patagonia outlet, shopping for turtles (Matt just finished all the seasons of My Name is Earl and was inspired by Mr. Turtle) and pottery we headed to the Boardwalk. Santa Cruz is SO California! Beach cruisers, volleyball and tons of color everywhere. Eating caramel apples and rock candy we walked the pier and people watched at the boardwalk. I finally saw a lifeguard stand like the ones on all the tv shows I used to watch growing up. I’m a nerd, I know.

To end the day appropriately we watched The Lost Boys (filmed in Santa Cruz). Kiefer Sutherland and Corey Feldman are in this 1987 Vampire flick. Vampires didn’t always look like Edward Cullen and Bill Compton.

The End.

About Erin Hebbe

GA native living the life in Asheville, NC.

One response »

  1. I had no idea Santa Cruz was so cute. We will have to make a trip!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

